Skip navigation

Hello. My name is Muttler. You may not remember me, but I used to post here. I haven’t been here for a while. A long while in fact. Any one who was semi-regular at visiting is probably long gone.

Anyway, Jase and I were talking about a resurrection to the blog. Maybe doing something a little more “themed” rather than random musing and crap.

To close this chapter of StormTheBarricade I thought I would try and summarise my top 10 albums of the year. This will be close to definitive, but I am sure there will be something I forget. So here goes. I am sure Jase will not agree with anything.

1. Flight of the Conchords – S/T

I have already gushed over this one. I have been listening to this for what, like 9 months? No, I haven’t stopped. It is still gold. The Conchords are the highlight of the year, in music, TV, and anything else.

2. Portishead – Third

Spoken about this one too. Amazing return.

3. TV on the Radio – Dear Science

I really didn’t get their previous album. I know everyone loved it, but I just couldn’t penetrate it. But as soon as I heard this I was hooked. This is an amazing album, with nary a dud track. But I still can’t dig Cookie Mountain.

4. Be Your Own Pet – Get Awkward

I haven’t stopped listening to this either. What I thought might be a throwaway purchase has been a stayer. The perfect power-pop-punk album. “The Kelley Affair” might be single of the year.

5. Deerhunter – Microcastles

I had heard lots about Deerhunter, but not really given them a crack. But with this being an RRR album of the week, it got its hooks in. Maybe my favourite discovery this year.

6. Eddy Current Suppression Ring – Primary Colours

Local boys done good. People who know me may be surprised to note that The Drones were not in my top 5, or are even in the top 10. While I like their new one, I don’t love it which is actually a real disappointment. But it is OK I guess, cause Eddy Current gave us the best Oz album of the year. Drones… I still love you, but this album kicks ass.

7. Raconteurs – Consolers of the Lonely

Have talked at length about this. Jack White you can do no wrong (actually you can… that song for James Bond was terrible!)

8. Sigur Ros – Med Sud…

Yeah, their live show was disappointing for me this year, but this album is still great.

9.King Khan and the Shrines – Supreme Genius

Can anyone get away with calling their album “The Supreme Genius of…”. Well King Khan did, and he can. This is 16 all-killer, no-filler tracks.

10. Pavement – Brighten the Corners (reissue) + live album

Ha! This is cheating. But it did come out this year, and came with the bonus live album on vinyl that was meant to come out a decade ago, but only in the last week saw the light of day. I love Pavement, so I don’t care if it is cheating to include this. This album is still a 6 star album from 6 star band. Pavement ist rad.

Honourable mentions: Death Cab (I just got a bit tired of you), Jay Reatard (all 3 albums), Mogwai, Deerhoof, Breeders, She & Him, Black Mountain, Nick Cave, Spiritualized, Beck

There you go folks. Jase and I will try and be back. We promise. I think we have lots to argue about in a public forum such as this.

… muttler

One Comment

  1. Bring on 2009.
    No Kings of Leon? šŸ˜‰

    I must listen to this Eddy Current Suppression Ring


Leave a comment