Skip navigation

I love lists. And I love making compilations. So it is about this time of year I compile my first “Best Of” CD, usually for my friends Damien and Anna.

I will post the tracklisting in the next few days when I actually make it, but here is my top-5 albums so far in 2008.

1. Flight of the Conchords:

None of my friends will be surprised by this choice. I don’t exaggerate when I say I have listened to this 300 times. Now I don’t usually “get” musical comedy, but I seriously think this is genius. It is my favourite driving CD, and when I drive I sing along and I laugh. Sure people laugh at me when I am sitting at the lights, but I don’t care. Plus Ladies of the World gets my nod so far for most awesome song of the year. Redheads, not Warheads… Blondes, not Bombs… I’m talking about Brunettes, not Fighter Jets. I love it.


Flight of the Conchords – Ladies of the World

2. Third by Portishead:

If FotC didn’t exist then I would have listened to this even more. As it is, I listen to it a lot. What makes this album even more remarkable is it took 10 years, and it still shows Portishead as the most vital “electronic” band out there. The beats are awesome, and the track We Carry On just gives me goose-bumps.


Portishead – We Carry On

3. Consolers of the Lonely by The Raconteurs:

This is probably a bit biased. Maybe some other albums could have made it instead. But Jack White and co. kicked my ass when this all of a sudden turned up. Not only was it a surprise, but it was 14 awesomely great tracks. Not a dud in there. Maybe it is a touch too long, but that really only says it is too good rather than being filler.


The Raconteurs – Salute Your Solution

4. Narrow Stairs by Death Cab For Cutie:

If you told me that Death Cab would be vying for a spot in my top 5, I would have laughed. Not that I don’t like them, but I thought Plans was pretty average. But Narrow Stairs is a really great from start to finish. It has some of Death Cab’s best songs in ages on it. Only 11 tracks (a couple of short ones in there) but it just flows beautifully. Some of my friends don’t dig it, but I think they are all crazy like.


Death Cab For Cutie – I Will Possess Your Heart

5. Get Awkward by Be Your Own Pet / Blood Visions by Jay Reatard

Sorry about the double up, but here is two pop-punk albums that I just love. Jay Reatard came out of nowhere. I heard a bit about it, chased it up, and then went “whoa! how awesome is this?!”. 15 songs, 25 minutes. Perfection. Be Your Own Pet are a bit more accessible, and I may have even listened to this even more. I quite liked their first album, but this just takes it to the next level. Like Jay Reatard, brevity is the key. And this is also 15 tracks of bliss, not a dud in there. In fact The Kelly Affair is probably the second best song so far in 2008. How I love Russ Meyer.


Be Your Own Pet – The Kelly Affair

and


Jay Reatard – Not A Substitute

Honourable Mentions: Sorry to Nick Cave, Black Mountain, She and Him, My Disco and Sigur Ros. You should probably all be on this list.

… muttler

2 Comments

  1. i’m adding you to my blogroll just because you have amazing taste in music. 🙂

  2. Cheers! Most my friends struggle how I can listen to FotC then Jay Reatard then Portishead without my head exploding.


Leave a Reply

