Skip navigation

This review of Indiana Jones is superfluous. For one it has been out a week and anyone remotely interested has seen it. Secondly, nothing I can say or do would change any ones desire to see it (or not to see it as it were). So why write it? As a child of George Lucas (Indy and Star Wars) it just seems the right thing to do.

Now I am not going to just gush on about it. Similarly, I am not just going to bag it and say that my childhood has been violated. Here simply is the good and the bad (minus spoliers). A point of reference for you… Raiders is gold, Last Crusade is OK, Temple of Doom is underrated.

The Good:

  • It is most certainly an “Indiana Jones” movie
  • There are some genuine laughs (jocks v greasers is comedy gold)
  • The spirit of the original movies is retained (for the most part)

The Bad:

  • The central plot device sucks (not saying what, it gives too much away)
  • Some jokes are way too “jokey” (monkeys anyone?)
  • Too long (some scenes just go nowhere)
  • The end

That’s it in a nutshell, you can make up your own mind. I can’t elaborate too much without giving away spoilers. Again why did I write it? Well, I am watching Raiders as we speak and it is just so awesome, so I guess I felt compelled to vent a little. The scene where you see Indy run over the hill being chased by all the natives near the start is just one of the most awesome shots ever. Damn it, the whole movie is perfect.

… muttler

One Comment

  1. I haven’t seen it.

    I think I still want to, actually it’s good to know that the spirit of the old movies is there, that’s what I was most worried about.

    Can I assume by the picture that you’ve got your hands on a copy of Lego Indy?


Leave a Reply

