Skip navigation

You all know how much I love the Pixies, how their show last year was the greatest gig ever, blah blah blah. But what about the side projects? Well Black Francis has always been a bit up and down. For me, it was Kim Deal‘s Breeders that caught my imagination.

Last Splash was 15 tracks of utter brilliance. Wow… that was almost 15 years ago. That is real scary that I just adored that album (still do) and played it to absolute death back in ’93. And in between all we have had is Title TK and an ep or two. Title TK was pretty cool, but it lacked the memorable tracks like Saints, Divine Hammer, and of course Cannonball. In fact, I can’t recall a single song from it. Unfortunately we are in the same territory with Mountain Battles.

Listening to it I dig it all the way through. There are some hooks hidden in there as well as some almost creepy elements to some of the tracks, which have always been there in the Breeders albums. But I get to the end and I can’t remember a single damn song. The one I remember most is the one you hear Kim demoing in the Pixies doco loudQUIETloud (shows how many times I have watched that).

So, Kim’s charm is certainly in there, and I will be spinning it every now and then, but it just hasn’t hooked me. Maybe it will take a little longer than normal. Here’s hoping.

… muttler

One Comment

  1. We were at The Breeders gig at the Glasgow ABC last night. They excellent. Well worth seeing if you get the chance.

    WEW

    http://extremelisteningmode.com


Leave a Reply

