Skip navigation

I am a very excited camper because tonight I am off to see Sonic Youth play the utter perfection that is Daydream Nation in its entirety. A review will be coming in a day or so.

Don't Look Back

It is part of the Don’t Look Back series that has been around a couple years, mainly in the UK, where artists play their (arguably) most influential album. I had the privilege of seeing the very first Don’t Look Back show in London in 2005, which was The Stooges playing Funhouse. That was an utterly amazing show… an album I adore by a band I never thought I would ever see (and the fact I was only in transit in London for 2 days and fluked that and Pixies shows made it two of the greatest days of my life). It actually adds something strange yet exhilarating to a show knowing what song is coming next.

So this got me thinking… what is my wish list of albums? Here are a few (I am sure I will think of more). I have included bands that are no more, but where (most) the members are still around to make it a possibility but thus not including sooo many other LP’s from artists no longer with us . I also tried to avoid albums from the last 10 years to keep the “influential” status. Here we go…

Pavement Slanted and Enchanted, Crooked Rain, or Wowee Zowee. I am not being fussy here… any of these and I would be in heaven (Brighten the Corners could get a run too, but the first couple have the extra special place in my heart)

Pixies Surfer Rosa or Doolittle. Again, not fussy… but I think Surfer Rosa has the edge.

Television Marquee Moon. An album I got hold of because I thought I “had to” and one I cannot live without. These guitar solos would be sublime live.

My Bloody ValentineLoveless. Now they are back together playing some shows, this is a possibility! That would be 45 minutes of ear melting bliss.

N.W.A. Straight Outta Compton. This is the most nostalgic of the bunch… I probably loved Public Enemy more but this is me being 18 all over again. It will never be the full crew, but it could come close.

Teenage FanclubGrand Prix. I know most of you are wondering why this is not Bandwagonesque, but this is their classic to me. I will NEVER get tired of this album.

Radiohead OK Computer. Sorry… I know this is an obvious one. To be honest I listen to Kid A and The Bends more, but can you imagine hearing this start to finish?!

Beck Odelay. One of the greatest gigs ever was Beck in 1997 supporting this album. With the deluxe edition out I have been cranking it out again and yes, it is timeless.

DJ ShadowEndtroducing. His last album is not so great, but I saw him tour it live and it was amazing. So I can’t even imagine what Shadow could do with this end to end.

Neutral Milk HotelIn An Aeroplane Over The Sea. This I have only come to love in the last few years, but adore it, and I think enough time has passed for this to be classic. This is also a bit of a selfish request in that I never saw them play back in the day. Imagine the apprehension in knowing you will hear O’ Comely?

As mentioned I am sure I have forgotten something… but that is a pretty darn good start. Sonic Youth update soon.

… muttler

Leave a Reply

