Skip navigation

I had one of the classical cliched musical discussions the other day with a friend of mine… would The Beatles White Album be better as a single piece of vinyl?

We both easily agreed, NO. As unlistenable as “Honey Pie” is, songs like it, “Rocky Raccoon”, and “Revolution 9” all make The White Album the flawed, sprawling masterwork it is. But we decided not to leave it alone and actually began to work on it.

We had rules though… well, rules that follow Beatles practice. 14 tracks… 2 George songs, 1 Ringo, and then the rest split between John and Paul. Easy? Not quite. When we tried to work out the tracks we came to the realisation there is one and a half albums worth of indespensible tracks. The McCartney tracks we could manage, but paring John’s songs down is almost impossible.

Anyway, I continued and here is my version. This has already stirred debate with my mate (“Would you tell John that Julia goes and Revolution 1 stays?”) but it is a bit of fun. Sequencing could use some work (no Paul or John songs back to back though), but I think the tracks stay. Here goes…

  1. Back In The USSR
  2. Dear Prudence
  3. Mother Nature’s Son
  4. Sexy Sadie
  5. Helter Skelter
  6. Revolution 1
  7. Long, Long, Long
  8. Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except For Me and My Monkey
  9. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  10. Why Don’t We Do It In The Road
  11. Happiness Is A Warm Gun
  12. Black Bird
  13. Goodnight
  14. Cry Baby Cry

Been listening to it all day and I reckon it is a bit of OK. Give it a go.
… muttler

4 Comments

  1. Valiant effort, but leaving “Julia” off would be like disposing of “Dear Prudence”. It’s about his mum. Other than that, interesting topic.

  2. Thanks for the comment… I had this exact argument with my friend. He couldn’t believe I would leave off a song that was so personal to John and include one that is just an alternate version.

    In the end I found it really really difficult to whittle down John’s songs (Paul’s were relatively easy). I think I got brutal on Julia just because I didn’t want another quiet number on there… I really love the song. In the end though it proves though that you just can’t really get the White Album down to 14 tracks!

  3. No Old Brown Shoe? Shame.
    At least maybe ‘The Ballad of John and Yoko!’!…. oh well, that’s the point of lists right….

  4. Then I realised it was only White Album tracks…. I’m a moron!


Leave a Reply

