Skip navigation

1. New Amsterdams – At the Foot of my Rival
New Ams are the #1 on any year they put an album out (pretty much every year at the moment). Judging on the steady gains of the last 3 albums, I would guess that the one after the next will literally make my head explode.

2. Modest Mouse – We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank
I think I probably wore this one out, but I still dig it. It’s like the best elements of the last 3 or 4 albums, distilled into something even wilder. The addition of Johnny Marr to the lineup had me worried at first, but it was pure genius.

3. Ted Leo + RX – Living with the Living
I was hanging out for this album for months. Somewhat more fractious than the awesome Shake the Sheets, but probably more in style with Hearts of Oak. Political, angry, more Elvis Costello than Elvis Costello ever was. And then there’s the reggae song that was always threatened in past albums (it’s good).

4. Spoon – Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga
I hate the name, after spending most of the year telling everyone it didn’t really matter. It does, the name is just stupid. I don’t want to say it. But the album’s great. I know a lot of people are sad at the continuing move away from lo-fi n’ gritty, but I think it’s just working really well for them. Black like me is one of the two finest last-tracks of the year.

5. Arctic Monkeys – Favourite Worst Nightmare
And the other one is 505 from this album. A great followup to Whatever People Say I am, although I’m still repulsed by Only Ones Who Know. Otherwise a great set of songs.

6. Les Savy Fav – Let’s Stay Friends
I’ve come to the realisation that LSF are incapable of making a filler-free album, but there’s enough gold here to make up for it, and lyrics that are still out there. “My court, they surrounded me, they gagged and bounded me”. Hilarious.

7. Maxïmo Park – Our Earthly Pleasures
Suprisingly good, if you’ve only heard Girls who play Guitars (and, who hasn’t?) then you really need to check out the rest of this album. I thought they were Swedish, but they’re not.

8. The Clientele – God Save the Clientele
Unexplainable, but great. The Garden at Night is a stand out.

9. Radiohead – In Rainbows
Kind of obligatory to the 2007 Best Of lists. Also, not really like The Bends, as everyone wanted it to be (again). I feel bad about paying nothing for it, but I’m sure I’ll listen to it more once I have a physical copy in my hands.

10. Arcade Fire – Neon Bible
I can’t help but think I’m rating this just to rile my co-barricader, and I’ll admit I didn’t get it for about 9 months of this year, but it’s growing on me. Matt, “No Cars Go” is awesome.

Honourable mentions:

  • 11. The Fratellis – Costello Music.
  • Best song not on an album: Beck – Timebomb.
  • Best song on an otherwise throwaway album: Bring Me the Head Of from Magic Dirt – Beast.
  • Best Interpol album of the year: Interpol – Our Love to Admire
  • Best album that I’ll probably like whenever I get around to listening to it: The Shins – Wincing the Night Away (I’ve only just “discovered” Chutes too Narrow, come on)
  • Best album that I thought I would naturally hate, but it was OK, really: The White Stripes – Icky Thump
  • Best album even though it came out in 2006: Snowden – Anti Anti
  • The nicest guy in indie music: John Vanderslice – Emerald City
Leave a Reply

